About the Core

The Indiana University-designated "core school" of Indiana University School of Nursing (IUSON) is comprised of schools of nursing on three IU campuses: Indianapolis, Bloomington, and Fort Wayne. These schools operate as one administrative unit to offer baccalaureate, master‘s, and doctoral degrees. Administration of the core school resides primarily in Indianapolis on the Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) campus. The IUPUI campus has been home to Indiana University health science schools of nursing, medicine, and dentistry since its creation as a campus in 1969.

Consistent with the mission and vision of Indiana University and IUPUI, the vision of the IUSON core school is "leading with excellence in research and education powered by innovation and partnerships." The IUSON core school mission statement further asserts, "The Indiana University School of Nursing exists to lead the 'knowledge work' of nurses of today and tomorrow to positively influence the health of communities served by: inspiring learning through excellence in teaching; creating and advancing knowledge through science and research; and shaping care through practice innovations and partnerships."

In 2006, the IUSON core school was designated an NLN Center of Excellence for creating and maintaining environments that promote the pedagogical expertise of faculty and staff. This three-year designation, renewed in 2009 and 2012, was, in 2016, renewed for a four-year designation. Also, in 2012, the core school was awarded a second NLN COE designation for advancing the science of nursing education, which was renewed in 2017. This dual recognition was the first for a school of nursing.

For more information about the schools of nursing comprising the core, visit their websites: Indianapolis and Bloomington.


Robin NewhouseAdministrative leadership of the core rests in Dean Robin Newhouse whose office is in Indianapolis.
Mary Lynn Davis-Ajami, PhD, MBA, MS, FNP-C, RNThe Bloomington campus is guided by Dr. Mary Lynn Davis-Ajami, Associate Dean of Nursing.